Bad to the bone? Try data entry

Data entry bandits

I’m not going to lie to you. I’m just not that good of a writer, at least not one who can make this volunteer job seem interesting.

You’ve heard or Special Olympics, right? Pretty rewarding stuff – the volunteer coaches, trainers, and event supporters who clock the runners or ref the games… they all come away with one of the most memorable experiences of their lives, right? Well, we’re all about behind the scenes here at GoodCause, and this is a volunteer opportunity that is about as behind the scenes as you can get: data entry.

My little sister’s friend, Erika Corbell (not the red-headed Erika – my sister’s always quick to point out – the other one) is the statewide volunteer coordinator for Special Olympics Texas. Becky says she enlists hundreds of volunteers to help with the seasonal games, and this year’s Winter Games will be held in San Antonio, Jan 31 to Feb 3, 2008. I hear you’ll understand the true value of sports after helping out at one of these events. I encourage you to give it a shot.

BUT maybe you’re more of a typing-in-an-office-park-for-no-pay kinda guy…. If so, listen to this:

“They also have volunteers doing data entry weeks before the games if you know anyone who’s interested. They have shifts during the day and at night and will provide food. Their office is in the Chevy Chase business park on I-35 and 183.”

Data entry?!?!” you say. “Where do I sign up?”

If this sounds like you, please call me after you sign up. I really want to talk to you. I mean, maybe there’s something I don’t know about data-entry volunteer jobs. Maybe these are the biggest group of partiers and hell-raisers in town, going around like anonymous bandits, entering data and checking spreadsheets, then cruising out of town on their Harleys, headed to the next thankless job. But, like, hey man, that’s freedom.

Leave a Reply

