Does it matter which United Way you give to?

Speaking of United Way….

There are 69 United Ways in Texas, each with a different service areas, some of which overlap. It’s confusing. But it’s important to clear up because when you give to the United Way, you want that money to go to the United Way that serves the area where you live…right?

For example, the service area of United Way Capital Area, based in Austin, includes 10 counties: Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Llano, Travis, and Williamson.

And this is not to be confused with United Way Central Texas, which serves the Temple area.

Nor should it be confused with United Way of Williamson County, based in Georgetown, which also serves Williamson County.

And there are others. United Way of Hays County is based in San Marcos, United Way of Comal County for New Braunfels, and United Way of the Greater Fort Hoodarea based in Killeen. 

Oh, and there’s a United Ways of Texas, too, which is actually a volunteer association of Texas United Ways. Not to mention the national United Way. Oy. So to which organization do you give?

If you want to impact the area where you live, seek out the United Way that serves that area. I don’t think any of these United Ways are created to trick you. It’s just that serving communities with support for nonprofits that do good work is complicated, to say the least. More about this in the first issue of GoodCause.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: