Meeting Nicki today to talk about her breast cancer

Nicki, graduate student, wiht a great new haircut

Nicki, graduate student, wiht a great new haircut

You might have heard that October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. You might have also heard the statistics – the ones that scare the bejeesus out of you: “The National Cancer Institute, a component of the National Institutes of Health, estimates that, based on current rates, 12.7 percent of women born today will be diagnosed with breast cancer at some time in their lives.”

I like this from the national Komen website, too. Do you fall into one of these categories? If so, follow this link to find out how breast cancer can affect you. (Note: EVERYONE falls into one of these categories.)

African Americans
Ashkenazi Jewish Women
Asian Americans
Hispanics/Latinas
Lesbians
Native Americans
Older Women
Younger Women
Pregnant Women
Men

SO THE POINT IS that we need to learn more about breast cancer. How to avoid it, cure it, help others through it and help others recover from it. Even if it doesn’t affect you, it will affect someone you love. Take this opportunity to learn a little bit more about it.

I’m meeting with Nicki today to talk about her diagnosis and treatment. She’s 24 years old, a biology graduate student, and a blogger. Here’s an excerpt from her blog:

They take out lots of lymph nodes and test them all for cancer. If a lot of them are infected that means the cancer is further, and you might have to do more treatments, like radiation to that area. For me they took out 15 nodes and 7 ended up being positive. Technically that puts my cancer at a stage 3A instead of two. When the doctor gave me the news he said that they were still really hoping for a cure and that my chances were really good. For some reason though, hearing this news was the first time I really lost it and cried. Like uncontrollably cried. I knew that the survival rates for stage 3 were not nearly as good as stage 2 and it was the first time it occurred to me that I might not get better. I don’t think about that anymore though, b/c I know I will get better. The statistics don’t matter, b/c I am nothing like the statistics and treatments are better now, and I am barely a stage three anyways. So I was bummed that so many were positive, but it doesn’t really matter, I will still get better. I was on the bus anyways, I just have a slightly worse seat now.

If you donate or volunteer or run the race or learn more about breast cancer this month, remember that you’re not only putting us all one step closer to a cure, but you’re also putting an arm around Nicki’s shoulder, letting her know that we all care and we’re going to pull together to get her through this. For more about Breast Cancer Awareness Month, you might check out this really informative, well done blog about breast cancer. Ausitn Komen’s doing a great job of keeping it chatty and engaging.

Leave a Reply

