MARCH 4: I’m hosting a RISE Conference session: Bootstrapping your publication

Those who can’t, teach, right?

I certainly don’t claim to know all the secrets to publishing a magazine these days, but I’m happy to share with you what I do know. The way I see it, there’s no such thing as too much competition – the best mag wins. And I’m happy to learn from other magazine makers to see how to make mine better, because chances are if yours is succeeding, mine has a chance.

So Mando Rayo invited me to host a RISE Conference session I’ve titled, “Strategies for Bootstrapping  a New Publication.” In its third year, RISE – a Relationship & Information Series for Entrepreneurs – is an annual conference series dedicated to providing a free forum for entrepreneurs to connect and exchange ideas that inspire the entrepreneurial spirit. This year’s conference is March 2-5 at various locations around Austin.

I figure I’ve picked up some ideas from managing publications, writing for them, working with art directors, freelancers, printers and advertisers over the past 15 years. The thing is there are a million ways to start a new publication – more than ever these days thanks to all the cheap-to- free resources for content and publishing – so I’ll cover which ones I’ve tried and share those experiences.

There’s something to learn from each one, but the most important lesson I’ve learned so far is that there’s no subsitute for commitment – and that means commitment of time and money. The good news is that even if you only have a little bit of each, you can still get a new publication going. I’m a full-time working mother of two, so I’m as strapped as I can be for time. Still, I managed to get GivingCity started “on the side.” And now that I’m not working full-time (as of this morning), I’m excited about what can be….

I hope you’ll attend or share this information with someone you think might be intersted in starting their own publication. All the RISE sessions are free, and there’s tons of really useful info being shared. I know I’ll be at a few sessions other than my own.

Strategies for Bootstrapping a New Publication
Wednesday, March 4
12-1:30 pm
Mexican American Cultural Center
RSVP Now!

Get more information about my session or about the RISE Conference in general.

Leave a Reply

