The Silent Auction … of Doom.

I’m with Alan. From his most recent post:

Live and silent auctions are what really kill me. You go out and panhandle every merchant you can find to give you stuff to sell then you present it in such a way to the consumer to make them feel philantropic while they shop for bargains at your event.

I’m all for like-minded people getting together, but this shopping-for-charity thing just feels so icky. How can we do it better?

Just got done shaking down some merchants myself for the silent auction at the preschool fundraiser. Most are so generous, but it tends to be the small or medium-sized businesses that give the most often – not just a  product or service, but also in their time. Can we give them a break at the next gala and think of something else?

One Response

  1. I had to laugh when I saw this since I JUST sent out letters begging</s) asking for donations. And I wish there were a better way, but sometimes it’s the only way to get people to your event. Like mine, at Lambert’s on June 25. $25 per person, $40 per couple.

    Sorry for the shameless plug, but I just had to do it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

