Is 2010 going to be the greatest or what?

We’re looking forward to lots of new opportunities in the coming year, for GivingCity Austin and for our publishing company October Custom Publishing.

GivingCity Austin may be on hold, but it’s far from over. After I get through writing this post, I’ll continue working on this mixed-revenue model I’ve been sketching for months. It seems like I make more progress on it when I’m not directly thinking about it than when I am. One recent realization: It’s not such a foreign concept after all, having a nonprofit publication that also accepts paid advertising. In fact, I’ve worked on four other publications that do just that – it’s how association publications work all the time. So with that a-ha under my belt, I’m ready to move on.

(Look, I didn’t say I was a brilliant publisher. Anyway, I am working on other projects concurrently. Geez!)

I can’t give up on GivingCity because it still seems like it could work. I still believe a widely distributed publication can connect and inspire people to engage in local philanthropy and civic issues – and can be a great way for local organizations and businesses to market their products and services and align themselves with the caring community. I think it can make philanthropy look cool, accessible, and not just something for millionaires.

Saw this quote tonight. What do you think?

Make no little plans. They have no magic to stir men’s blood and probably themselves will not be realized. Make big plans; aim high in hope and work, remembering that a noble, logical diagram once recorded will never die, but long after we are gone will be a living thing, asserting itself with ever-growing insistency. Remember that our sons and grandsons are going to do things that would stagger us. Let your watchword be order and your beacon beauty. Think big.
Daniel Burnham, Chicago architect (1846-1912)

One Response

  1. You really have a great blog going! Keep up the good work! Here is one of my favorite sites. East Texas Classifieds

Leave a Reply

