“You do what you can.”

I’m sure you’re as overwhelmed as I am about the news from Haiti. We work so hard to help the community around us and then we see this destruction and suffering in another country, and it’s all we can do not to just give up.

This GivingCity stuff has introduced me to so many people who make giving and sharing a regular part of their lives; people like Sara Hickman who’s becoming known more for her generosity than her amazing songwriting and performing talent. She works constantly, has two daughters, is a ubiquitous performer… yet never seems to turn down a request for help. Doesn’t she get tired? Doesn’t she get overwhelmed?

Today someone who knows of this kind of exhaustion said to me, “You do what you can, and if everyone else would do what they could, the world would change.”

So if you haven’t already, do what you can for Haitians. Here’s a great place to start.

From there, I guess the only thing we can do is encourage people around us to do what they can.

Here’s what I’m learning: Demonstrating compassion can help you feel more useful, more in control, and that leads to happiness. (I have little kids; nothing makes them happier than feeling useful and like they have some kind of say in their day. Those parenting books are right.)

So even though I should have known this by now, I’m learning that when I start to get overwhelmed by suffering, injustice, and all that crap, it makes me feel better to help. And the more I help, the better I feel. Sara Hickman must be one happy lady.

“In separateness lies the world’s great misery, in compassion lies the world’s true strength.” —Buddha

Leave a Reply

