Free glasses for kids at Texas Book Festival

Free Glasses for Kids at Texas Book Festival

FREE GLASSES FOR KIDS
Free eye exams and glasses for kids 5 – 12 years old
Prescription lenses and designer frames offered at no cost to families

When:
Texas Book Festival
Saturday, October 16 from 9:00 am-5:00 pm
Sunday, October 17 from 11:00 am-5:00 pm

Where:
Texas Book Festival, Children’s Tents, west of capitol,
corner of 13th Street and Colorado

Who is eligible?
Children ages 5-12
Qualify for free or reduced lunch (no proof of income or birth certificate necessary)
Targeting children without vision insurance, CHIP or Medicaid

Details
Parents must sign consent for before exam
Proof of residency or income not required
Exams and prescription glasses and frames will be provided at no cost to families
Dozens of volunteers will be on hand
Se habla espanol

NEED A FLYER? Download the English version or the Spanish version

###

The Essilor Vision Foundation and the Austin Kids Vision Coalition will offer qualifying  young children free eye exams and glasses at the annual Texas Book Festival, October 16 -17, in Austin, Texas.

A screening team and eye doctors will be on-hand to offer free vision screenings and eye exams from a tent and a large van set up in the children’s area of the festival. Technicians will be able to offer new, prescription glasses to the children who need them but can’t afford the exam or glasses.  Most glasses can be made on-site the same day.  The free 2-day pilot to offer glasses for needy kids is a pilot project called Kids Vision for Life, a collaboration lead by Essilor Vision Foundation, the nonprofit arm of Essilor, the world’s largest manufacturer of ophthalmic lenses.

According to Essilor Vision Foundation’s research, 25% of school children living in the U.S. have a vision problem significant enough to affect learning.  Studies also show that 70% of juvenile delinquents have uncorrected vision problems.

“To think that our children are failing because of the very fixable issue of not seeing well is a problem we can solve, together,” says Ken Gladish, president and CEO of Austin Community Foundation. “I’m proud that so many great Austin organizations are participating in this pilot project and identifying ways to ensure that all the children in Austin who need glasses get them.”

The teams of volunteers, doctors and Essilor Vision Foundation staff will have spent four days working with hundreds of kids at three Austin ISD elementary schools earlier in the week.

7 Responses

  1. I missed this chance to get my son vision care. Is there any other way I am able to take advantage of this free service? Thank you.

  2. I miss the chance as well to get a vision check and glasses for my little girl. I was told three years ago she would need glasses at 7 and she is now 6 and I cannot afford to get her checked. Can someone please help me on what I can do to get her vision care please. God Bless

  3. I was just wondering when my daughter glasses
    were to arrive. I was told that it would be about 2 weeks
    Just checking up on them.

  4. Just wondering when my children were going to recieve their glasses? It’s been a little over two weeks and neither we or the school nurse have recieved them. Thank you.

  5. Hi. From what I understand, it can take up to a month for the school to receive the glasses for your child. Because the project was working with different school systems – AISD, Del Valle, others – every school has a different process. When you receive them may also depend on your child’s prescription.

    If you’d like to send me your child’s name and the school he or she goes to, I can help track down the glasses. You can send that privately via an email to me at monica@givingcity.com.

    Monica

  6. You might also consider a couple of websites that offer discount glasses. I’ve never used them before, so I can’t vouch for them. But the deals look good and seem more affordable.

    http://www.zennioptical.com looks like you can get new glasses for about $10 or less if you have a prescription.

  7. Hello I was just wondering if someone could call me so I can set up an appointment for my daughter. Thanks

Leave a Reply

